Give now to support our 2016-2017 season!

Concert: “Darkness and Light” February 28, 2015

Wild Rumpus presents “Darkness and Light” at the Center for New Music on Saturday, February 28, 2015 at 8:00 p.m. The performance marks the first in a series of three concerts featuring winners of the Wild Rumpus Commissioning Project.

“Darkness and Light” presents a study in musical contrasts, a contemporary musical exploration of chiaroscuro: juxtaposing harmony and noise, movement and stillness, shadow shapes and light. Gritty, kinetic energy reigns supreme in Louis Andriessen’s Workers Union for instrumental ensemble and in David Coll’s theatrical Position, Influence for soprano and sound sculpture, while harmonious stillness characterizes Jacob Cooper’s serene haiku Silver Threads and Arvo Pärt’s modern-day classic Fratres for violin and piano. Delicately poised between these bold extremes, Balance of Power by artistic director Dan VanHassel receives its West Coast premiere.

Three world premieres commissioned by Wild Rumpus round out the program, each making exquisite use of color and contrast: the wild surrealism of Ioannis AngelakisDreamPlay by Ioannis Angelakis references the absurd logic of dreams; Ben Richter’s serene, evocative Water’s Edge builds musical constructs only to detune and deform them; and David Bird’s Switch explores society’s mechanization through an interplay of noisy patterns and sounds for instrumental trio.

$15 General, $10 Members
Tickets available at the door only
Center for New Music: 55 Taylor Street, San Francisco


Ioannis Angelakis: DreamPlay (World Premiere)
for flute, clarinet, trombone, double bass, percussion, piano

David Bird: Switch (World Premiere)
for flute, clarinet, cello

Ben Richter: Water’s Edge (World Premiere)
for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, double bass, piano, percussion, electric guitar

Louis Andriessen: Workers Union
for electric guitar, double bass, trombone, saxophone, percussion

David Coll: Position, Influence
for soprano and sound sculpture

Jacob Cooper: Silver Threads
for soprano and electronics

Arvo Pärt: Fratres
for violin and piano

Dan VanHassel: Balance of Power (West Coast premiere)
for bass clarinet, cello, double bass, piano, percussion, electric guitar

Leave a Reply